Euro Zone

The eurozone is a group formed by the nineteen European Union member states that have adopted the euro as their official currency. The eurozone was created on January 1, 1999. The countries included in the eurozone are: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, and Portugal.

Since the creation of the eurozone, the monetary policy of the member states has become the responsibility of the European Central Bank (ECB), an independent entity created for this purpose, as well as of the national central banks of the member states that have adopted the euro. Taxation policy continues to be controlled by the national governments.

You might also be interested in

  • Enjoy these advantages with no fees or conditions.
    • €0 for administration and maintenance of the account.
    • €0 annual debit card fee.
    • And of course, there's no need to arrange for your paycheck or bills to be directly paid into or debited from your account.

    Free, with no fees, conditions or paperwork.

    Only for new customers.

  • For young people between 18 and 29 years of age.
    • €0 for account administration and maintenance.
    • €0 annual debit card fee.
    • No need to deposit your paycheck.

    No fees if you use your card once a month (withdraw money, pay for purchases, etc.).