G8 (Group of Eight)

The G8 or Group of Eight is a summit at which heads of state and government leaders from eight countries meet to discuss the international community's main economic and political issues.

The G8 concerns itself with macroeconomic management, international trade, and relationships among developing countries. However, in recent years other issues such as energy, terrorism, security, employment, and human rights have also taken a leading role at the G8 meetings.

During its early days in 1975, the group existed as the G6 after being formed by Germany, the United States, France, the United Kingdom, Italy, and Japan. In 1976 Canada joined the summit, creating the G7. In 1998 Russia was added and the group became the G8.

You might also be interested in

  • Enjoy these advantages with no fees or conditions.
    • €0 for administration and maintenance of the account.
    • €0 annual debit card fee.
    • And of course, there's no need to arrange for your paycheck or bills to be directly paid into or debited from your account.

    Free, with no fees, conditions or paperwork.

    Only for new customers.

  • For young people between 18 and 29 years of age.
    • €0 for account administration and maintenance.
    • €0 annual debit card fee.
    • No need to deposit your paycheck.

    No fees if you use your card once a month (withdraw money, pay for purchases, etc.).