The Committee of European Securities Regulators. The Committee of European Securities Regulators is an independent advisory body for EU securities markets composed of one representative from each national securities market regulator. The committee was established in 2001. Its main role is to advise the European Commission on market performance measures, to carry out prior consultations with stakeholders, and to promote the consistent and homogeneous application of European legislation by national supervisors.